One month of Undead Love

It has been one month since I published Undead Love.  I can hardly call my novel a hit, though it has done decently for no promotions and only word of mouth advertising.  There are people doing better than me, and there are many people doing much much worse.  My favorite moment was when I broke into the top 100 American Horror list and was briefly beside a Stephen King title.  (Sorry for the potato quality.  It was late and I took a photo instead of a screencap.)

 

img_0567

This was definitely an eye-opener for me.  Carrie was published before I was born, and yet it is still steadily selling.  It is probably still ranked in that same spot, while I was only there for a day.  At least I have something to shoot for.  After one month, I don’t think I have gained any actual ‘fans’ that I know of, either on twitter or facebook, and my reviews are definitely lacking.  Here is what the numbers look like for the first 30 days.

Sales:  31

KENP page reads: 13,656

The kindle pages reads actually mean a lot more to me than the sales.  My novel is on the shorter side, at 137 pages long.  So according to the pages reads, it has been read through roughly 100 times in the past month.  I’m sure some of those page reads are people who might have started and not finished, but regardless, I think it shows there is promise for where my book can go.

As of right now, I will be hitting the dreaded 30-day cliff tomorrow,  but I will be attempting to combat that by running my first Kindle Countdown Deal starting September 9th.  I also have two cheap promotions scheduled that day and an upcoming review on a romance site.  I hope that all of these help to boost me in the rankings a little bit.

I have been running an amazon ad campaign for the past few days.  The cool thing about it is that you can spend as little as $1 a day on promotions.  That is what I have done so far, and while I have received some clicks, I have yet to have any sales that I know of.  After my countdown deal, I may experiment with raising the budget.

The best thing I can do right now, though, is to write the next novel.  I am saving the big promo sites for when I have a second book to funnel them to.  I am about a quarter of the way through writing book two, and I plan to buckle down and have the first draft finished by the end of the month.  I am also working on a rewrite of another novel under my actual name.  With a lot of work and a little luck, I could have three books on Amazon by November.  From what I have heard and read, the best thing you can do is get out the next book.  You never know when a book can strike a cord and become a hit. But really, the bigger catalog increases the money you make, and with 10 books that perform just as mediocrely as Undead Love, I could almost live off that.  It really is just a numbers game.

If you have read my novel, please take the time to leave me a review on Amazon and/or Goodreads.  It helps to give the book a little validity to prospective buyers.  Until next time.

-Lee

Leave a Reply

